briar is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Help with Basic Table Structure

Thank you for help! Beginner here.

Can't get past basic table structure. To follow rule of non-repeating data, I try breaking things down to smallest data in tables. Example: table "Make" (Ford, Chevy, GM) and another table "Model" (Mustang, F150, Tahoe) - relationship should be one-to-many: one- "Make" to many- "Model" (Ford Mustang, Ford F150, Chevy Tahoe). Another table, "Inventory" has vehicle specifics "Year", "VIN", etc. On "Inventory" table, I want to pull in the descriptors from "Make" and "Model". Even Table Analyzer doesn't like what I'm doing. Wizards says, "some records found with very similar values" and suggests I match the Ford with the Chevy??? Should I pull "Make" to "Model", somehow combine data and then pull to "Inventory". Also, would love to add "Color" and "Style", etc. but that confuses things even more.

Desired result would be "Inventory" form to have drop-down boxes for "Make", "Model", "Color", "Style", etc. for ease in data entry. Also ability to run report not just on each unique vehicle in "Inventory" table, "1965 white Shelby Mustang car", but also reports for "all Fords", or "all green Fords", or "all green Chevy Tahoe". Can't find the "rule" that explains best way to separate these tables to to non-repeating data and then linking together through relationships. Better to use Lookup Fields only on the "Inventory" table? Better to use composite keys? It can't be this hard - I've got to be missing something? Thanks again!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    It is a balancing act between normalization and ease of data entry/output. "Normalize until it hurts, denormalize until it works."

One approach would be to have field in Model to hold foreign key of MakeID. Then Inventory would have foreign key field for ModelID along with fields for year, style, etc.

I avoid composite keys. Only used once.