Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    kd2017 is offline Well, I tried at least.
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Insert / Update Trigger To Validate PARENT Foreign Keys

My data structure at the moment looks like this:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	31 
Size:	11.0 KB 
ID:	41578

Regarding table [tblEstimates] and referential integrity I need to make sure that its foreign keys originate form the same Job, eg tblSubcontractors.JobFK = tblSov.JobFK. I can do this pragmatically in the front end app but if I can ensure the integrity in the back end sql server I'd sleep better at night.

I'm new to sql server and am trying to get my head wrapped around triggers.

So far I think I've gathered that this can be accomplished in a INSTEAD OF INSERT, UPDATE. I can't get my head around the t sql to solve this, my roadblock is how to use the trigger to validate each row when multiple rows are inserted/deleted. Not sure how all that works. Can I validate and commit individual rows or will I have to cancel all the updates if just one of them is invalid?

This is about the closest solution I've found for working with multiple rows but I can't figure out the syntax. If that's the correct road to be going down I could use some help decoding how that works.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    What is a takeOff? Sov?
    Can you describe in simple English (2 or 3 lines)what your graphic represents?
    Just trying to put the pieces into context:
    Job, Estimate, SubContractor---Sov, TakeOff

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Sov is a construction industry term, its needed to group sections of work together. Eg: Landscape

A takeoff is the qty of work counted (taken off) from blueprints. Eg: 100 sqft of concrete

The estimate is the underlying estimated costs to perform the "taken off" qty of work. Eg: 100 labor hours

Windows 10 Access 2016