astath is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Office 365

Question Removing dublicates from a combo box

Hello all!

This is my first attempt to create something with Access and I'm having a hard time removing duplicates from a combo box used with a from. Tricky part is that I have used lookup function to the tables and the particular combo box gets the value from a different table than the one that the form is being used to. When I'm trying to edit the row source I see that the selected values (by the form wizard) are the PK along with the value that I want. By removing manually the PK from the row source in order to use DISTINCT with the value that i need, the list gets emptied. Is there any way to correct this?

Thanks in advance.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    probably, but you need to provide some example data, the result required from that example data and the sql you are using for your combo rowsource

Windows 10 Office 365
    Thank you very much for your prompt reply. Sure thing!

Under the DB I have a table named table1 that has values that is taking from table2 via lookup. I have amended the relations to one to many. So when checking the table1 form's in question combo box what i see as row is SELECT Table2.PartNo, Table2.Maker FROM Table2;

PartNo is a PK for table2 and FK for table1. If i try to change this to SELECT DISTINCT Table2.Maker FROM Table2; then the combo box has nothing to select from.

Finally contets of Table2 are as per below:

PartNo Maker Part
    1001 Maker1 Part1
    1002 Maker1 Part2
    1003 Maker1 Part3
    1004 Maker2 Part1
    1005 Maker2 Part2
    1006 Maker2 Part3
    1007 Maker2 Part4
    1008 Maker3 Part1
    1009 Maker3 Part2

So with the default selection i get multiple times of Maker1 / Maker2 / Maker3 and with DISTINCT option i get no results at all.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    i get no results at all.