Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Juan4412 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    200

    Hide Access

    I have hidden all the menu-bars, option menu's, tables etc etc the best I can. But when I double click the shortcut access still shows in the background. is there a way to ONLY have my form show and not have acecss?



    Meaning get rid of the file, home and the grey background in this image?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	29.2 KB 
ID:	41056

  2. #2
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,126
    maybe this will help - See controlling application interface
    http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/e...ses/4594429186

    I have no affiliation with that site.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  3. #3
    Juan4412 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    200
    You are always so knowledgeable!

    Where do I place these modules so that they run on db open?

  4. #4
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,126
    Did you follow the link to 'more information'? I think instructions are there. I've never downloaded that file so I won't be of much help.
    If you read the info and have questions you could try sending a private message from here to Isladogs or use the contact methods at that site

  5. #5
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,184
    Hi
    The link Micron provided is to my website.
    The easiest way to understand it is to study the code used in my example(s)
    Import the modules you want to use to your own application and apply similar code.
    If you have any specific questions about the usage, let me know
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems): Website, email
    Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
    A
    sking for help isn't giving up. Its refusing to give up.

  6. #6
    Juan4412 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by isladogs View Post
    Hi
    The link Micron provided is to my website.
    The easiest way to understand it is to study the code used in my example(s)
    Import the modules you want to use to your own application and apply similar code.
    If you have any specific questions about the usage, let me know
    I have a default form that loads when the database is opened. In the Form_Load() event of that form I placed this code from your database sample
    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Load()
        HideRibbon
        cmdAppWindow
    End Sub
    Public Function HideRibbon()
         DoCmd.ShowToolbar "Ribbon", acToolbarNo
    End Function
    
    
    
    
    Public Function cmdAppWindow()
    
    
    On Error Resume Next
    
    
         If Me.cmdAppWindow.Caption = "Show Application Window" Then
            DoCmd.Restore
            HideRibbon  'v3.43
            blnShowWindow = True
            Me.cmdAppWindow.Caption = "Hide Application Window"
            DoEvents
        Else
            Application.Echo False
            DoCmd.Close acForm, Me.Name
            DoCmd.OpenForm "frmStart"
            Application.Echo True
            blnShowWindow = False
        End If
    
    
    End Function
    But I still am getting the grey background as shown in my Post # 1

  7. #7
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    9,560
    I
    want it to launch when access is opened - I am sure there is an event for that,
    there isn't - you either need to use an autoexec macro or the form open event for the form you have specified as the display form.

    When an app is opened for the first time by a user they will need to enable the code and the code won't run until this is done. Alternatively the file can be put into a trusted directory - but a user may not know about that. The point is, the access window will be visible until the code has been enabled and executed.

    There are ways of opening files hidden, but that is a windows action, not access/vba - and if the window is hidden, the user cannot click the enable button.

  8. #8
    Juan4412 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    200
    Hah - so i'm going through all this trouble of hiding the menu's etc etc and until the user "trusts" the database it's all moot

  9. #9
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    9,560
    there are ways, but you will need an installer application which can a) make changes to the registry to set a trusted location and perhaps b) created a folder and perhaps c) create a shortcut to place on the desktop. There are a number out there, some more suited to your needs than others. Google something like 'installer applications'. I've used INNO in the past which is free.

    However IT frequently prevents users from making changes to the registry so you may still stumble at the first hurdle. All depends who your client base is

    This is all to do with preventing malicious applications from executing.

  10. #10
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,184
    First of all you haven't used my code to hide the application window.
    You have taken code from a button click procedure cmdAppWindow_Click and incorrectly changed that to a function
    If you use my code correctly it will work.

    Secondly if you distribute your access files using an installer package, you can ensure that the install folder is trusted during installation.
    This means the start-up code will run the first time the app is run
    Whilst no Access app can ever be made 100% secure, it is certainly possible to defeat all but the most determined and skilled hackers.
    If you want more advice in securing your databases, see this two part article on my website http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/i...ity/4594461803
    The article includes an example app so you can try out all the different features mentioned
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems): Website, email
    Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
    A
    sking for help isn't giving up. Its refusing to give up.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Hide access to database
    By Delfina in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2019, 08:46 PM
  2. Hide Bar In Access
    By Eranka in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-23-2018, 05:24 AM
  3. Hide Sections of Access Ribbon
    By kazaccess in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2014, 10:09 PM
  4. Hide access on start up
    By beha in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 04:57 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 05:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums