Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    LakiJo is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5

    Question Combo box selection doesn't filter form

    I created form for data entry purpose with a combo box that enables users to select one of the products already saved in database. If the user selects a product using the combo box, its values are shown in the fields of the form. This form works perfect in Microsoft Access (Office 365), but the same file doesn't work properly on some earlier Access versions - combo box doesn't filter the form.
    Does different Access version cause this or it could be something else?



    This is how the form is supposed to work. The combo box selection doesn't work if the file is started with one of the earlier version of the Access on another computer.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	01.JPG 
Views:	22 
Size:	33.4 KB 
ID:	40975

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,816
    All I can say is it should work. If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    the unbound combo box (in blue header) should have afterupdate event code like:

    Code:
    sub cboBox_afterupdate()
    if isNull(cboBox) then
       me.filterOn = false
    else
       me.filter = "[Field]='" & cboBox & "'"
       me.filterOn = true
    endif
    end sub

  4. #4
    LakiJo is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5
    The database is attached if someone wants to analyse). Once again, everything works on my computer, but something goes wrong with the combo box selection in the forms when this database on other computer with earlier Access version.

    (there are some data for the test purpose only - nothing confidential)

    Answer to the second post of this thread - yes, i created after update event on the combo box.

    Thanks!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Living in Scotland UK
    Posts
    1,557
    Works fine for me using Office 365

  6. #6
    LakiJo is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by mike60smart View Post
    Works fine for me using Office 365
    Yes, correct. I sent this file to someone else who has an older version of the Access and to my surprise it doesn't work.

  7. #7
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,816
    I tested with Access 2010 and Windows 10 and it works for me.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  8. #8
    LakiJo is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5
    Thank you for letting me know.

  9. #9
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    Also works fine in Win10/Access 2007.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  10. #10
    LakiJo is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Missinglinq View Post
    Also works fine in Win10/Access 2007.

    Linq ;0)>
    Thanks for letting me know. It seems that software version doesn't matter.

  11. #11
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    You might try checking for missing references on the errant machines.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-19-2018, 01:22 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-05-2018, 11:21 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2018, 11:12 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2017, 11:26 PM
  5. Combo Box that doesn't allow selection
    By Ted C in forum Forms
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 04:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums