davidb is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

Need professional help with Database like Northwind

We own a small company which is a wholesale distributor. We need a database to handle all our ordering, contact, invoicing, and other records.

I have some experience fooling around with Access, and the Northwind sample database looks like it should handle everything we need, and more. We would need to tweak things here and there. I would hire a professional to do this.

I have heard two opposite opinions on this: 1.) Northwind is an established database that is basically ready to go as is, or 2) Modifying an existing database like that is asking for trouble.

I could use some training on simply navigating Northwind, and importing our data, which is all in spreadsheet form now.

It seems like this is something that could be accomplished with a couple hours of distance training and design.

We may also want to have the DB accessible to one or two people working remotely either through SQL on a server or through a remote connection to my computer.

Is this a feasible plan? Is this forum an appropriate place to look for freelance help with this?

Please excuse any of my butchering of the correct nomenclature.

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

David

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Well, it's your business. Do you spend most of your time "working" your business?
    You do Customer service, ordering, contact, invoicing, inventory management,, accounts etc now in spreadsheets.
    How does current method(s) work? What is the key factor for making a change?

I don't think Northwind is business ready. It's good for some concepts, but lacks some details.

davidb is offline Novice
    Thanks for the reply Orange.