Results 1 to 7 of 7

Joining Queries

  1. #1
    George is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    278

    Joining Queries

    Good Day,



    Can anyone say if it is possible to join 2 queries side by side not - append at the bottom. Basically I want to put 2 tables side by side to compare corresponding values. So I am thinking of reading the values from I table to another row by row. I don't want to store the results permanently, that's why I am considering a query.
    Last edited by George; 01-14-2020 at 08:44 PM. Reason: mistake

  2. #2
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    8,537
    The simplest way would to make sure that the dB configuration is set to "Overlapping Windows" (FILE/Options/Current Database).
    Then create/open two queries based on the two tables. Arrange them side by side. Be aware that you could fat finger the keys and change values. Be careful.


    Another method would be to have a main form with two sub forms. The sub form record sources would be queries based on the tables. You could disable changes for the forms.


    Hope I understood correctly........
    HTH
    -----
    Steve
    --------------------------------
    "Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
    (I came; I saw; I stuck around.)

  3. #3
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    6,662
    Be aware that you could fat finger the keys and change values.
    That can be prevented by setting the Recordset Type property to Snapshot when in design view. What I can't help but wonder is, if 2 tables in the same database contain almost the same data (or at least the same fields) that doesn't sound right.
    - "doesn't work" doesn't help. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    "Everyone has a photographic memory; some just don't have film." Steven Wright

  4. #4
    George is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    278
    Thanks Steve. A bit beyond me. I dont understand:
    "Overlapping Windows" (FILE/Options/Current Database).

  5. #5
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    14,472
    George can you describe again what you are trying to achieve.Perhaps you could use some example to clarify.

  6. #6
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    8,537
    Quote Originally Posted by George View Post
    Thanks Steve. A bit beyond me. I dont understand:
    "Overlapping Windows" (FILE/Options/Current Database).
    In the menu, click on FILE,
    Then, at the bottom of the dialog, click on OPTIONS.
    In the dialog window, click on CURRENT DATABASE
    Look for an option "Document Window Options"

    You should see the radio button option "Tabbed Documents" selected.
    If you select "Overlapping Documents", you will be able to open multiple documents (tables, queries, forms,...) at the same time and be able to move them where ever you want to see them.

    I never use Tabbed Windows - didn't have tabbed windows in Access 97 or 2000 so overlapping is what I am used to using.


    This is Tabbed
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tabed1.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	112.9 KB 
ID:	40674

    This is Overlapping
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Overlaping1.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	122.8 KB 
ID:	40675
    Last edited by ssanfu; 01-15-2020 at 07:55 PM.
    HTH
    -----
    Steve
    --------------------------------
    "Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
    (I came; I saw; I stuck around.)

  7. #7
    George is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    278
    Hi Orange. Thanks for your response.
    Actually the idea of using a form with 2 subforms is good. Because I can compare the two table.

    My original idea like it wasn't a good one. I am still developing the idea, so at this time I am not sure what my final need would be. I would get back to the forum later if I run into trouble.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Joining
    By Perfac in forum Queries
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-03-2018, 06:03 AM
  2. Frustrating with joining 2-queries & editng
    By djclinton15 in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2016, 03:09 PM
  3. Joining 2 databases
    By travisc in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2015, 11:33 AM
  4. Queries Joining 3 tables At Once
    By EddieN1 in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2013, 07:16 PM
  5. Trouble Joining Two Queries
    By ianclark2992 in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2013, 08:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums