Robbo11 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 64bit

Building a good foundation for a database

Hi there

I have the need to track my engineering drawings in a more efficient way and I believe Access may be the best tool for this. I have no experience developing an Access database but I do know my way around Excel and VBA for Excel quite well and I want to make sure I head off in the right direction before getting too involved.
    My project folders are laid out by year, then by project number and description then 10 subfolders within this folder, folder 08 being my drawing folder which contains Master, Superseded and Work in Progress folders e.g. T:\\2019\2190066 – Client Name – Project Description\08 Drawings\Master
    At present, my drawings are tracked via spreadsheets, one project per spreadsheet (two samples attached for reference) which are saved within the 08 Drawings folder. One of my problems is that to find the drawings I need to remember the project number or search my folders for keywords which is not particularly efficient. A problem also arises when a new project requires existing drawings to be amended and one set of drawings ends up being split across several projects, again, not efficient at all. It gets even more complicated when I work on two different stages of a project for two different clients under two different project numbers.
    I am hoping for some guidance on the best way (I know this is subjective) to put together my database. Information that will be included as fields will be
    Principle (End User, often the same as the Client but not always)
    Client (Each client has a unique identifier e.g. ROB01)
    Project Number (Each project has a unique identifier e.g. 2190066)
    Drawing Number (Each drawing has a unique drawing number e.g. 2190066-MCC1-E4-001)
    Drawing Description 1 (e.g. PU-002 – Potable Water Pump)
    Drawing Type (i.e. Schematic Diagram, Termination Diagram etc.)