Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    bgup is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit

Newbie to Access. Help on project

I am new to the Microsoft Access life but I was tasked with a job that may or may not be a good idea to use this software. I would like some opinions before digging deep into access in order to save time and hassle. I am willing to learn the software but again, not sure if this is a good project to use Microsoft Access.

I work in a manufacturing plant and we assemble "X" amount of units every day. This value changes monthly, which effects our manpower and the time required to fully assemble 1 unit. I have a set number of stations where him/her will be tasked to complete the necessary steps based on the amount of units being produced for that month. Thus, is it possible (given the amount of time for each station) to organize all my tasks automatically?

Example:
    Major steps Time to do task (sec)
    Install seal tight strip 50
    Check torque 30
    Insert nut 30

Install Part A 120
    Torque bolts 20
    Torque brake 95

THUS I want Microsoft access to generate the following:
    Person A will install seal tight strip, check torque, insert nut for a total time of 110 sec
    Person B will install Part A for a total time of 120 sec
    Person C will torque bolts and brakes for a total time of 115sec

I want steps broken down evenly. Can Access do this? If so can I get a super general breakdown and I can do research on how to generate this. Much appreciated!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Access IS the tool to use.
    I too work in manufacturing and I use Access for for storing data on each machine.
    With all the history, you can generate reports of the past data.

I doesnt sound like a complicated project so you should be able to learn as you make the db. (the best method)

Hi

You will need a table for Employees and a Table for Tasks

So then 1 Employee has a set number of Tasks to complete