Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Euler271 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    62

    Access 365 runtime issue

    I am an Access developer and I wanted to convert one of my databases to runtime so I could distribute it and no one could hack it. I downloaded the Access 365 runtime executable, ran it and now all of my databases are in runtime mode.

    1) I need to get my databases out of runtime mode.
    2) I need to know how to convert a selected database copy into runtime mode and distribute it.



    Can anyone help me with this? Thanks for your attention.

  2. #2
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    1,382
    I think you are confusing yourself. The runtime you have downloaded is what is now running your databases as it has replaced your normal Access as the default program to use.
    Have a read here http://www.databasedev.co.uk/convert...de_format.html - you need to save your database in Access as a accde.

    This won't make it completely unhackable, but a lot more difficult to get into the guts of.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  3. #3
    Euler271 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    62
    I guess you're right. I will have to uninstall the runtime and re-install the full version.

    You said converting to accde doesn't make it completely unhackable. Do you know what, if anything, would make it completely unhackable?

    Thanks for replying.

  4. #4
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    1,382
    Duplicate sorry
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  5. #5
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    1,382
    Quote Originally Posted by Euler271 View Post
    I guess you're right. I will have to uninstall the runtime and re-install the full version.

    You said converting to accde doesn't make it completely unhackable. Do you know what, if anything, would make it completely unhackable?

    Thanks for replying.
    Have a look here http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/s...ges/4594398127
    Colin has written some excellent articles and provided some security "challenges" that you can look at.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  6. #6
    Euler271 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    62
    Thanks again. I guess there's no such thing as "unhackable".

    I found this link, however, to an application that makes it tougher to hack:

    https://www.everythingaccess.com/mdeprotector.asp

    I have no idea how good it is.

  7. #7
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    4,289
    Wayne Phillips supplies some excellent products but this will only provide part of the solution.
    Minty mentioned various articles available on my website. Did you look at these?
    In particular, see this article http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/i...ity/4594461803.
    It includes a sample database so you can work through each step and see the effect in each case
    That should help you implement the different measures described in your own apps.

    Whilst no application can ever be made 100% secure, you can make it such that its so time consuming and complicated to hack that its not normally worth the effort involved
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems) : Website, email
    If this has helped, please click the star button and leave a comment

  8. #8
    Euler271 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    62
    Thanks for replying.

    I guess my main problem now is learning how to package my database (accde version) with Access runtime in some installer. I have no experience doing that. I tried to read about Windows Installer but there seems to be hundreds of web pages on the MS site about it and no way to print it out.

    I found some other installers (Inno Setup, NSIS) but I obviously haven't used them and don't know if they are what I need.

    I also found a book on Amazon regarding Windows Installer but it's over ten years old with mixed reviews.

  9. #9
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    4,289
    Inno is free but I believe it is entirely script based.
    I use SamLogic Visual Installer Pro which is a commercial product and fairly easy to use
    I have no affiliation to the product but can recommend it strongly.
    See https://www.samlogic.net/visual-inst...-installer.htm
    If you do get this pay the extra for the Pro version as the extra features are particularly useful.

    If you want to see examples of this in use, there are several free example databases distributed from my website using an EXE file crested with this product
    For example see http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/cert/4594365453

    Hope that helps
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems) : Website, email
    If this has helped, please click the star button and leave a comment

  10. #10
    Euler271 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    62
    Thanks for the tip. SamLogic sounds like it's exactly what I need. And I'll certainly get the Pro version, as you suggest.

  11. #11
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    4,289
    One other thing. As they are a relatively small company, they do respond to requests for new/improved features.
    Over the past few years they've added/altered several items at my request
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems) : Website, email
    If this has helped, please click the star button and leave a comment

  12. #12
    Euler271 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    62
    Many thanks for your additional comments. I think I'll ask them specifically about my situation. I notice that it's a Swedish company. I'll have to assume someone speaks English there.

  13. #13
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    4,289
    Their website is in English & they respond to emails in English. I've never needed to phone them...!
    Suggest you download the free trial/evaluation version and decide for yourself whether its right for you
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems) : Website, email
    If this has helped, please click the star button and leave a comment

  14. #14
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    162
    I have the same problem, I downloaded MS Runtime, now my Access 365 only opens in Runtime. I can open my files by double clicking and they open in Runtime. How do I get back to my Access 365. Can I use Runtime and 365 at the same time? How do I fix this?

  15. #15
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    162
    Update. I uninstalled Runtime 2016 and installed Runtime 2013 and all seems to work.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2019, 01:12 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2015, 11:26 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-06-2014, 06:34 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-12-2012, 09:52 PM
  5. MSAccess Runtime issue
    By tkanuradha in forum Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 11:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums