Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 54 of 54
  1. #46
    hendrikbez is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    138
    Hi John, yes I did change this to right, this morning when I was testing it, but thanks for the info.
    I have pickup a lot on new info.

    Just one thing, when I choose table tblSynonyms and then get new words it give me words that is not in wordlist, I then add them, but when I run the same again, it gives me new words that is not in wordlist.

  2. #47
    accesstos's Avatar
    accesstos is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by hendrikbez View Post
    Just one thing, when I choose table tblSynonyms and then get new words it give me words that is not in wordlist, I then add them, but when I run the same again, it gives me new words that is not in wordlist.
    Hi Hendrick!

    Do you mean that you get every time the same words in tblNewWords or you get every time different new words?
    It's hard to me to find what is going on without the actual data.

  3. #48
    hendrikbez is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    138
    Yes it is every time different words, bit it is fine, I have clean it up, so it does not show the words.
    To search a word is also now very faster.

    Thank you one again

  4. #49
    accesstos's Avatar
    accesstos is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    551
    Very nice!

    Have a nice weekend!

  5. #50
    hendrikbez is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    138
    Hi John

    Just need help with this, I want to delete one character form a word, but the character can be any where, as I do not need it in wordlist.
    Code:
     .Execute "UPDATE tblClean set [fnewWord]= " & "where([fNewWord],Chr(45),"") """
    I have tried to get it to work, have tried many different ways, but no I cannot figure it out.

  6. #51
    accesstos's Avatar
    accesstos is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    551
    Hi Hendrick!

    The method below removes the Chr(45) from anywhere in the field fnewWord of table tblClean:
    Code:
    CurrentDb.Execute "UPDATE tblClean SET [fnewWord]=Replace([fnewWord],Chr(45),"""")",dbFailOnError

  7. #52
    hendrikbez is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    138
    hi John

    It is working, but (here is the but again) I do have two words "sleep and home"on different rows in my wordlist, and in tblSynonyms I have one word sleep-home.
    So if I run the program it make it sleep-home to this sleep home, how can I make it to know that this two words are already in wordlist and do not add sleep home and one word.

  8. #53
    accesstos's Avatar
    accesstos is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by hendrikbez View Post
    hi John

    It is working, but (here is the but again) I do have two words "sleep and home"on different rows in my wordlist, and in tblSynonyms I have one word sleep-home.
    So if I run the program it make it sleep-home to this sleep home, how can I make it to know that this two words are already in wordlist and do not add sleep home and one word.
    Hi Hendrik!

    In the code of the NewWordsInTableEx() function of the last attachment, add this line:
    Code:
    strWordsCheck = Replace(strWordsCheck, "-", " ")
    between the comment:
    Code:
    'Also, you need a "clean-up" function here if there are special characters to remove.
    and the loop:
    Code:
    While InStr(1, strWordsCheck, "  ") > 0
    So, the result at this part of code should be:
    Code:
        'Remove double spaces.
        'Also, you need a "clean-up" function here if there are special characters to remove.
        strWordsCheck = Replace(strWordsCheck, "-", " ")
        While InStr(1, strWordsCheck, "  ") > 0
            strWordsCheck = Replace(strWordsCheck, "  ", " ")
        Wend
        strWordsCheck = Trim(strWordsCheck)
        'Escape apostrophe character.
        strWordsCheck = Replace(strWordsCheck, "'", "''")
    Try it and let me know if still remains the "but".

    Cheers,
    John

  9. #54
    hendrikbez is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    138
    John, thank you it is working, if I need help again, I will open a new post.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to change words in a column in a table
    By hendrikbez in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2016, 02:29 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-14-2014, 07:26 AM
  3. converting number into words in query
    By joshynaresh in forum Queries
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2014, 08:17 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-01-2013, 08:17 PM
  5. Query to find exactly matched words in Access
    By petercheng in forum Queries
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 07:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums