Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    GrandpaEd is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Data entry/edit in a junction table

Hello all,

I'm new to Access and databases, so apologies if my question is in the wrong forum. In that case, mods please move it to the correct one.

I'm attempting to build a database with some reports and forms to manage membership data for a club and to track attendance at their monthly meetings. I have several tables so far, but the gist of the problem I'm having right now can be captured by three tables. Here are these tables and their relationships:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tables.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	57.9 KB 
ID:	39946

Essentially, tblActMemAtt is a junction table between tblMember and tblMeeting. I want to use that table to record attendance at meetings by members after the meeting, and to record cancellations, which occur -- and are recorded -- before the meeting. I've defined a composite index consisting of amaMemberID and amaMeetingID for which I don't allow duplicates.

I've managed to enter attendance data for a month in tblActMemAtt by using the datasheet view, but it was painful, time-consuming, and error prone. (There are around 150 members in this club.) I'm building the system for someone who's not computer savvy and I need to find a simpler way to enter attendance data.