RikApple is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Maths dependent on input

Hi

I am very new to this so please bear with me.

I am wanting to calculate a field that will change based on input from the user.

The fields are A) Maximum number of users.
    B) Remaining available slots.

When a user completes the form, I want the available slots to reduce my one. I assume this will be on a button click?

To add to this I will have potentially 50+ of these so it will need to reduce the correct field. I am defining these by a unique reference number e.g

REF Course Max Users Remaining Users

A23 Maths 8 7

A33 Physics 19 11

B11 English 11 11

So what I would like ideally to happen is when someone for example selects course A33 (Physics) then the remaining user count will reduce from 11 to 10.

Any help with this is much appreciated in advance.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Saving calculated data, especially aggregate data (or in your case, decreasing value) is poor design. Enter transaction records (increases and decreases) and calculate net balance when needed. The concept is described in http://allenbrowne.com/AppInventory.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Saving calculated data, especially aggregate data (or in your case, decreasing value) is poor design.
    I don't see where it states that the calculation is to be stored, but it was a reasonable assumption. I'm going to assume that the course selections are being stored, so it could be as simple as the DSum or DCount of that field, subtracted from the course limit, as an expression in a form calculated field. However, what also raises a red flag is this
    To add to this I will have potentially 50+ of these so it will need to reduce the correct field