Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    jsivanan is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    1

    Single update updates 2 tables. Why?

    I'm not a newbie. I've been making a living coding in Access VBA over 30 years, but this has me stumped.


    I have a sub behind a form button that opens a table (tblEdit) and updates it. Confusingly a duplicate table tblEdit_Template is simultaneously updated. Both tables are linked to from an external database (to keep the data separate from the code). tblEdit_Template is used to initialize tblEdit at the beginning of the subroutine using

    Code:
    DoCmd.CopyObject , "tblEdit", acTable, "tblEdit_Template"
    The table consists of an ID and a short string. This is the only reference to tblEdit_Template in the code and it's executed only once.

    Then tblEdit is opened with
    Code:
     
    Dim Error_Log As DAO.Recordset
    Set Error_Log = db.OpenRecordset("tblEdit")
    As the sub progresses and analyzes some data, a condition worth logging is discovered and a relevant value is moved to a string called Msg and I do a Gosub to a "Print_Error" routine (below) which is meant to update tblEdit.

    Code:
    Print_Error:
    Error_Log.AddNew
    strWeek = Trim(WeekLabel) + " Week"
    If Len(strWeek) < 16 Then strWeek = strWeek & Space(16 - Len(strWeek))
    If WeekLabel <> "" Then Msg = " " + strWeek + "    " + Msg
    Error_Log!ErrorDescr = Path + Msg
    Error_Log.Update
    Stop
    lngErrors = lngErrors + 1
    Return
    At the point where the Stop (inserted to debug) occurs, when I check tblEdit, it is updated as expected, however tblEdit_Template is also updated with the same data!!!

    So the question is "Why?" and "How can I stop it from happening"? I even tried renaming the template tblTemplate_Edit, deleting and recreating the linked tables and relinking, and rebooting. I'm using Access 365 on Windows10.
    Thanks in advance for your help.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,816
    Both tables are linked to from an external database
    DoCmd.CopyObject , "tblEdit", acTable, "tblEdit_Template"
    If tblEdit is a link (not a local table) and you make copy of that link named tblEdit_Template, you have just copied the link. These links are looking at same source. Edit one and edit will show in other.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Update Query that updates to minimum value
    By linvall in forum Queries
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-18-2018, 10:01 AM
  2. how to update two tables using single form?
    By MykeRuiz in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2016, 05:14 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2014, 10:39 AM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 08:33 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-09-2012, 01:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums