Results 1 to 8 of 8

Database won't allow to save file as executable (ACCDE). "Microsoft was unable to create .accde..."

  1. #1
    Duncan Pucher is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    49

    Database won't allow to save file as executable (ACCDE). "Microsoft was unable to create .accde..."


    I tried to save a split database as an ACCDE file but got an error message "Microsoft was unable to create .accde...". I tried holding down the shift key to bypass the opening form but this didn't solve the problem. Attached is the database. Can anyone help?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    2,099
    Perhaps you just need to "compile" it first. "compile" is available from the "Debug" menu when writing code.
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation. Many thanks.
    Not everyone can access an accdb, you may reach a broader audience by attaching in mdb format.

    Bob Fitzpatrick

    I have never failed. I have found a thousand ways that do not work!

    Microsoft Community Contributor Award (2011)



  3. #3
    Duncan Pucher is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    49
    Bob,

    That's all it took. I had some VBA code that I had tested and not finished and I needed to clean it up. Thanks for the tip!

  4. #4
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    7,554
    also make sure all modules have Option Explicit just below Option Compare Database - that will also highlight errors when you compile that might not otherwise be picked up until you run the code. You can set this as the default for new modules by going in the VBA editor to Tools>Options and ticking the require variable declaration option.

  5. #5
    Duncan Pucher is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    49
    I encountered an odd problem with making an executable file and would like help. In this thread there are the BE and FE of a split DB. I edit the DB at home and send to my work via email. I took the DB to my work and it won't allow me to Save As an ACCDE file although I am able at home to Save As a ACCDE file. I think it thinks something like a form is open but I don't have anything open. At home I get several options after I select Save As but at work when I select Save As it goes to Windows explorer and asks what name I would like to give the copy. Any thoughts about what could be happening?

  6. #6
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    7,554
    do you have option explicit at the top of each module as previously advised?
    have you tried to compile at work?
    is both work and home the same bitness for access?

  7. #7
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    6,334
    Any thoughts about what could be happening?
    I would expect that when you open the emailed version you are not seeing the message bar at the top of the db window that says the db is protected and read only. This happens because it came from somewhere else as a download. I'm not surprised that you cannot open an emailed db with your version of Windows and Access.
    - "doesn't work" is no help. Post err msgs and where.
    - Use code tags for code/sql. Implement changes in copies of your database.

  8. #8
    Duncan Pucher is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    49
    User Group,

    I found out the version of Access at home (2019) is not the same as at work (2007). At home I could select "Save As" and select "ACCDE" but not at work. At work I have to select "Save and Publish". I feel really stupid. Thank for your help.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2015, 10:19 AM
  2. Access 2010 "Unable to Create ACCDE"
    By Dan Hugos in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2015, 10:42 AM
  3. Can't find "Make ACCDE" tool
    By DB88 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2014, 02:21 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2014, 07:57 PM
  5. Cannot create ACCDE file
    By swilliams in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 03:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums