Trying to figure out iff I can make Access add and subtract numbers for bank ledger

Hello Community,

I am new to this forum, so please forgive me if I am not putting this question in the correct sub forum. I am also relatively new to MS Access (I am working with the 2016 version). I am trying to create a bank ledger in Access 2016 - I have already created on in Excel, but I am trying to get better with Access and I thought this would be a good way to practice.

The problem that I am running into is that I have two fields - Credit and Debit - and when I enter a number into one of the fields I would like Access to either add or subtract that number and give me a total (See screenshots.) Is there a VBA code that I have to program into Access or is there a simpler way?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Frm.PNC_Checking_Small.PNG   Tbl.PNC_Checking_small.PNG  

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You can do it any number of ways. On your form a textbox of:

=Debit - Credit

In the table, you could try a calculated field with the same calculation.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Windows XP Access 2007
    Should have added this:

http://allenbrowne.com/casu-14.html
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    I would like Access to either add or subtract that number and give me a total
    not sure how your form is intended to work (add or subtract from what?), but a transaction would either be a debit or a credit, not both. Consequently one of them will be null, so you need to use the nz function

nz(debit,0)-nz(credit,0)

however it should not be necessary to store the total, you can determine it in a query or form whenever you needed it.