achammar is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Subform auto populates with same data as last record I was on when I go to new record

Hi all! I've learned an awful lot since I started on this site but I'm still learning.

I have a form with a subform... fairly simple. Just 1 table for each form with a 1 to many relationship between the 2. The 1 side table has a field that is indexed and duplicates are not allowed (JobNumber) that I enter my own number using the main form, then I fill in the subform data. My problem is when I click on new record on my main form, it goes to a new record and the form and subform are blank, all just like it should. As soon as I start typing in the text box to enter a new JobNumber in the main table, the subform auto populates with all the records of the last record I was on. It doesn't save it.. if I backup 1 record then forward to the next record (the new record) the subform data is gone. It's very deceiving. It's a glitch of some kind I think but does anyone have an answer to this problem?

Thank you very much!
    Albert

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    It sounds as if the Link Master Fields - Link Child Fields aren't set properly.

Presumably the JobNumber as the Primary Key from the Main Form for the former and a corresponding Foreign Key for the latter...is that how you have it set up.

Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007