Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    kamathmanoj is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    41

    Unhappy Split an existing form into 3 - 4 forms

    Hi Everyone,



    Background:
    I have worked really hard (3 months) on creating an Access form that is going to be used in production. This form captures a data matrix bar code in one text field and splits the information into 20 text boxes (that feed 20 columns in an Access table). There is a lot of validation, coloring etc that I have built into the form that I do not want to lose.

    However, my boss's boss has come up with an idea that the form is to be accessed via RDP on a scanner. Apparently this was a requirement from the beginning but my boss conveniently ignored it and now, he has exited the company, leaving me holding the project.

    Problem:
    To fit all the fields, my only option is to break up the fields into logical components,
    Form 1: Coil attributes (Product ID, Heat#, Supplier #, Steel #, Bill of Lading, Quantity Received),
    Form 2: Physical properties (weight, yield strength, tensile strength, elongation, gauge, width and 2 types of coating thickness) and
    Form 3: Chemical properties (Carbon content, Phosphorous content, Sulphur Content, Manganese content, Silicon content and Aluminium content)

    To achieve this and still have only 1 piece of data entry via that text field that accepts the data matrix bar code, will it be enough to copy all the controls to other forms that are called up with a "Next" control? Or is there a way to create tabbed data entry on the current form? Either ways, I need to update the record once all the fields are checked by the data entry operator.

    Please help. I need to have this up and running soon and its double the pressure as my Boss is not around any longer to take the flak for his omission. No - there is no scope of asking for more time as there is a big "test" of the system next week.

    Regards,
    Manoj

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    You can add a tab control to your form and move controls onto appropriate tabs. From the form's perspective, they all remain on the same form so all your code and formatting should still work.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    kamathmanoj is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    You can add a tab control to your form and move controls onto appropriate tabs. From the form's perspective, they all remain on the same form so all your code and formatting should still work.
    PAUL! You are a lifesaver. I am doing that as I type but in Access 2003 (havent tried a different version), the moment I add a tabbed control, the app crashes! Its done that 3 times as I moved the final control into a tab. I tried saving the form as I completed one tab and now the form will not open! <Sigh!>

  4. #4
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    No - there is no scope of asking for more time as there is a big "test" of the system next week.
    That's probably unfortunate because it looks like you got off on the wrong foot design-wise - if those are really your field names, and if you ever add a product that has an as yet unidentified chemical field.

    By "create tabbed data entry on the current form?" did you mean a form with tabs or the ability to navigate through it with the tab key? If the former, Paul is probably on the right path. However, I find "20 text boxes (that feed 20 columns in an Access table)" to be somewhat confusing. If there is only one table, why is there a need for more than one form?
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  5. #5
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    Quote Originally Posted by kamathmanoj View Post
    PAUL! You are a lifesaver. I am doing that as I type but in Access 2003 (havent tried a different version), the moment I add a tabbed control, the app crashes! Its done that 3 times as I moved the final control into a tab. I tried saving the form as I completed one tab and now the form will not open! <Sigh!>
    That shouldn't happen (obviously), and I can't recall having had that type of issue. Hopefully you have a backup? Are you using design view, or layout view (or maybe that wasn't available in 2003)? If it happens again on a backup perhaps you have a corrupted form or something:

    http://allenbrowne.com/recover.html
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  6. #6
    kamathmanoj is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    41
    Hey Paul,

    I did the move a more painful way, I moved each control at a time and saved the form and database each time. It worked - the move that is, is succesful.
    Now my command buttons wont work and the scanned text from the bar code stays in the field but doesnt populate the fields in the tabs. Perhaps I need to add the tab names to the field now to call them to pick up the data from the data matrix bar code accepting control? No clue why the normal operations like New, Save, Delete, Exit form will not work, though. What could have changed?

    Micron - the ask is to have that big form with multiple fields to be visible for checking and correcting after the initial data entry from within an RDP environment on a Windows CE scanner.

    Regards,
    Manoj

  7. #7
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    Now my command buttons wont work
    You likely lost your connections between the controls and the code project. In design view and on property sheet, select one and see if the event is still indicated in the property sheet events tab. If not and you click the ellipses (...) that got you there before, you will navigate to the code event if it's still there. This will reconnect it to the control.

  8. #8
    kamathmanoj is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    41
    Command buttons worked! Thanks Micron!!
    How do I get the data into the tabs controls? I tried Me.TabName.ControlName= Value
    but it doesnt work, nor does it give an error. Weird!

  9. #9
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    How do I get the data into the tabs controls?
    The answer is in post 2: "they all remain on the same form"
    They are "children" of the form, not the tab control and not the page which is really what you might have meant (or should perhaps say).
    Me.ControlName= Value

  10. #10
    kamathmanoj is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    41
    MICRON!

    I am stupid! I was using a lost_focus() to enter the data from that field but that didnt work anymore. Changed the function to an AfterUpdate() and it works beautifully now.
    I am so happy that it works on my scanner perfectly

    My regards to you and Paul. I really appreciate you guys (gender neutral there - easy now)

    Regards,
    Manoj

  11. #11
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    I didn't mean to take over, but am glad you figured it out nonetheless.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2015, 11:19 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2014, 07:03 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 04:35 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 08:42 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 03:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums