JoCoR is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 32bit

Access beginner needs to build an Inventory Tracker/Manager.

Hi all. I consider myself an above average Excel user, self taught through experience and by searching for answers on google and forums. I am, however, humbled by how much I'm struggling trying to figure out Access. I know they are two different kinds of beasts, but Access is making me loose my mind.

I am trying to build an Inventory database, where we can keep track of reagents we receive, when are they put in use and by whom. My plan is to use a barcode scanner to scan the QR barcode that comes with each reagent box, and have Access split/parse the barcode string into 3 specific portions that we need:
    1. Reagent Reference # is the string that will identify the reagent, specific for each one, and which will never change.
    2. Lot Number is the reagent's lot number, which changes frequently.
    3. Expiration Date is the reagent's shelf expiration date, which also changes with each lot.

I already made a Database with all the Reagent Reference # with the pertinent information, like Reagent Pack Name, Description, Type of reagent and which analyzer uses it.

What I want is to have a field in a form where I scan the QR code and it will automatically grab the strings that are needed from the barcode, use the Reagent Reference # to match it to the corresponding reagent and bring up the name and description into another field in the form. Then the user just enter quantity received and miscellaneous information, hit Save and the data will be added to a Table log for tracking purposes.

I'm guessing the part I'm having issues with the most is determining table relationships and building queries.