Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    tuniwes is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    43

    Changing visibility at record level on a form based on a field value

    This is beating me up, I want to change the visibility of an image and another field for each record on the form base on a numerical status field, could be 1,2 or 3
    The problem is all records are reacting to the status in the first record not for each individual record

    Private Sub Form_Current()
    If Me.Status = 2 Then
    Me.Image67.Visible = True
    Me.Lockoutactive.Visible = True
    Else
    Me.Image67.Visible = False
    Me.Lockoutactive.Visible = False
    End If
    End Sub

    I have put the same code in the after update event
    Where am I going wrong please

    Thanks
    Ian

  2. #2
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    This type of code will only work for a Single View Form...Record-appropriate formatting for Continuous View or Datasheet View Forms has to be done using Conditional Formatting off of the ribbon, can only be done for some type of Controls, and is limited in the types of formatting available, Visibility not being one that is available.

    What type of Form are we talking about, here?

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    tuniwes is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    43
    Ah, that explains it, I created it with the multiple items wizard

    At least I wont waste any more time trying to do something that is not possible

    Thanks for the prompt response

    Best

    Ian

  4. #4
    Shorty is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    1
    I also have a user requirement to loop through a Form to set a field to not be visible, based on te value of another field. Can you suggest a solution ? I am considering sending the data to Excel, where I now that can do this, but would like to avoid that. Thanks in advance !

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Changing a field value based on a new record
    By griztkojr in forum Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2018, 03:02 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-05-2017, 01:13 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-13-2016, 02:11 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2013, 07:44 PM
  5. Field visibility based on ComboBox selection
    By cactuspete13 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2013, 03:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums