Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    snsmith is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Question Error with OpenRecordset

I've been programming in Access for a few years but I am very new to programming in VBA. I've found some videos and such online to get most of what I need completed. I'm currently working on a mass send email code to send out specific details to each person that shows up on a predefined query. I've already got the form filter set based on what I'm trying to send, but the openrecordset option is killing me and I don't know how to fix it.

First off I do have spaces in my column names which were great in the beginning of Access but seem to be causing me grief in VBA. I have multiple columns of data to pull but no matter how I set this line I still get errors as "Too few parameters. Expected 12". If someone can help guide me I would be very appreciative.

Set rs = db.OpenRecordset("SELECT [myUFL Master Project], [Check Number], [Date of Check], [Total Amt of Check], [Department ID], [Deposit ID], [Date of Deposit], [Payment is Split], [Is Backup Available], [Payee], [PI Name], [Check Notification contact Email] " & _
    " FROM OCRChecksReceivedDeptNotification")

Thanks!
    Sandra

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    You get this error a lot if you use crosstab queries but you can also get it with select queries. What it generally means is you are referencing an input value in your criteria from an external source (i.e. [forms]![formname]![fieldname]) and MS access doesn't know how to interpret what the value should be. You can *usually* resolve this by going to your query design and opening up the PARAMETERS window and typing in the variable name and defining the data type. This does not always solve the problem though and the way I've gotten around this is to dynamically build my SQL statement at run time rather than setting up the base query with a bunch of criteria/formulas.

moke123 is online now Me.Dirty=True