Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    sparkyinak is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

SQL Express ignorant - Is it beginner friendly

It appears that I am going to have to make the jump to SQL Express for my Access back end, for my growing Access DB file in order to share it with my co workers. Although I know what SQL is, I have zero experience with SQL code and servers. Thus I have many know questions let alone more questions that will pop along the way. Some of the questions I have are:

1. SQL Express is a stripped down version of the full blown program. How do I know SQL Express is good enough for my Access needs? I do not want to necessarily go through all the hubbub of downloading, take a figurative crash course to find out SQL is not enough
    2. Is SQL is enter level enough for me? I know my way around enough Office to fill in the unknown blanks but I'm totally a newbie with SQL.
    3. Presuming I can clear the first two questions, will SQL Express be all I need or do I need separate server space?
    4. Can more than one authorized user access the SQL file via SQL Express

5. Since it is web base, will it run on both Windows and OS?
    6. AM I biting off too much as a Green horn?

Thanx in Advance

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    SQLServerExpress has a size limit of 10GB. Will that be enough? If not, might look at MySQL, also a freebie.

What do you mean by 'SQL' - Structured Query Language is used by Access and other database applications. SQLServerExpress is a database software, not a language.

My 2 attempts to install and test SQLServerExpress on my laptop failed as too complicated for me to figure out. IIRC, have to set up a virtual 'server'.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

isladogs is offline MVP / VIP