majdoc is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2016

Lookup and Combobox

Hello all

Apologies - complete newbie but struggling. I am setting up a database to assist looking after my patients. I have a list of patients in a table including date of birth and have managed to setup a query to calculate age as follows:

Age: Year(Date())-Year([Date_of_Birth])+(Month(Date())<Month([Date_of_Birth]))+(Month(Date())=Month([Date_of_Birth]) And Day(Date())<Day([Date_of_Birth]))

I am then trying to setup a new "age" field in the original table. When I create a new field in the table using Lookup wizard and select the results from my query, it will only add as a combobox meaning I have to select the age. Can I do this so that the result of the query (i.e. the age) is inputted directly into the new "age" field in my original table.

Understand this is very basic stuff but have been at this for ages now!
    Majdoc

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    I am then trying to setup a new "age" field in the original table.
    You should not store such calculated values in any table. In a form textbox, show age as = Date - DOB (or whatever you call it) assuming that the value in the table field is the entire date and not just a portion of it. How you format the control depends on what you want to see. If only whole numbers and you don't care about rounding, then Integer values should work. You can try a ready made format on the property sheet for the textbox.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    you can simplify your expression too

iif(format([Date1], "mmdd") >= format([Date2], "mmdd"), 0, -1) + datediff("yyyy", [Date1], [Date2])

you'll have to play around with the 1 or 0 to get the age correct

majdoc is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2016
    Hi