Is it possible in Access? Beginners question about a potentially complex database...

Good morning.

I'm very new to Access, and as such have already viewed several excellent start-up videos on YouTube, but haven't been able to get a feeling that what I want to achieve with Access is possible or not. So I'd very much appreciate some input as to my requirement below.

Essentially, I head up the tech side in a small CAD bureau (or drawing office if you prefer) and I'm looking to have a database that keeps track of all the drawings we issue to our clients. The information stored will be relatively basic, such as the revision number, date issued, who issued it and the drawing status. The intention is to link an Access database into AutoCAD via VBA (which is perfectly doable and I'm proficient in both AutoCAD and VBA) and allow the user to add and read information regarding to current and previous projects through a Userform such as in the one below that I've cobbled together.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	drgiss1.JPG 
Views:	34 
Size:	38.2 KB 
ID:	38272

What I'm struggling with, is how to set up the database properly. In the image above, the Client combo box is populated from a list of Client named directories on the server. When that changes the Project combo box is populated from a list of Project named sub folders within the Client folder. Similarly, the discipline list is populated by the next level of sub folders (namely 'electrical', 'mechanical', 'drainage', etc), and a change to that list fills the Drawing Number box with the files in the discipline folder, all of which are named exactly as the drawing they contain (one drawing per file).

What I'd like to happen, is for the user to be able to click on one of the drawings in the list and the boxes to the right populate with all the historical info about that drawing. Drawings can go through any number of revisions so it's very important that we can keep track of it all.