ironfelix717 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016

VBA MS Access - A class within a form object - Retaining a class object

Hi, this is rather an advanced Access programming topic in my opinion.. here goes..

I wrote a class within a form module. The class is specific to the form's controls. The class properties manipulate the form to my desire.
    The intention of this class is to use the form as a subform. Think of the form as a custom control i can re-use to my hearts intent.
    I'm not a class expert - still learning so bare with me.

Consider the example below:

Inside the FORM Vba module:

Code:
    Option Explicit

Private VarSubformObject         As Form

Public Property Set SubformObject(obj As Form)
         Set VarSubformObject = obj
    End Property

Public Property Get SubformObject() As Form
         Set SubformObject = VarSubformObject
    End Property

Private Sub Textbox1_Click()
        SubformObject.Controls("mybutton").Caption = "Hello World"
    End sub

Public Sub Test()
    End sub

From the caller form - contains the object "mylistbox" as a subform control with a source object for the form in subject:

Code:
    Option Explicit

Private Sub Form_Load()

Dim ctl As Form
        Set ctl = Forms("Main Form").mylistbox.Form

Dim CustomList As Form_DragListboxControl 
        Set CustomList = New Form_DragListboxControl  'New instance

With CustomList
            Set .SubformObject = ctl
                  .Test

End With

End sub
    The form load event in the caller works fine. The object sets and the test method will fire. However, when I physically click in the subform on Textbox1, the click event fires but fails to retain the source object I set in the form_load event. This is simply because after the form_load event terminates, the object is no longer set, correct?

I get an error here:

Inside the Form Module (class):
    Code:
    Private Sub Textbox1_Click()
    End sub