Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    cczceo is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    1

    First Post Alert: Is it possible...

    I have slowly developed a database and I had a question that hopefully you all can assist me with. On the main form it has a drop down for the Type of Assessment that includes level 1, level 2, level 3. The database is to disburse ergo equipment and I would like to have it to where if they select level 1 the user would only have the option of selecting filtered level 1 only items in the subform. If they select level 2 the list would have more options that would include items that are approved for level 1 and level 2 and if it is a level 3, it would have the entire list. Is that possible?



    Right now the entire list populates so the user can request any piece of equipment regardless of the type of assessment. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ergo database.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	38.3 KB 
ID:	38120

  2. #2
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    8,781
    For this situation, you would use the AfterUpdate event of the combo and based on the value of its bound column, modify the recordsource of the subform. Your goal is a little bit different from what's usually asked for, which is to filter a subform based on a combo value. In your case, you want to "append" the choices so that it's A or A+B or A+B+C, so the solution is a bit more complicated than the other scenario. I'm assuming you never want A+C or B+C.
    - "doesn't work" doesn't help. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    Iím telling everyone it's good to eat dried grapes. Itís all about raisin awareness.

  3. #3
    hammerman is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    32

    Outside the box potential solution

    Quote Originally Posted by cczceo View Post
    I have slowly developed a database and I had a question that hopefully you all can assist me with. On the main form it has a drop down for the Type of Assessment that includes level 1, level 2, level 3. The database is to disburse ergo equipment and I would like to have it to where if they select level 1 the user would only have the option of selecting filtered level 1 only items in the subform. If they select level 2 the list would have more options that would include items that are approved for level 1 and level 2 and if it is a level 3, it would have the entire list. Is that possible?

    Right now the entire list populates so the user can request any piece of equipment regardless of the type of assessment. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ergo database.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	38.3 KB 
ID:	38120
    Just thinking of how to circumvent the problem of A or A+B or A+B+C, but not A+C or B+C: would adding another field in each record, that holds a single number; for the A list items the number would be, say 1, for the B list items it may be 3 and for the C list items it could be a larger number, (=5?). Then your filter to show all items belonging to each level would be to list/filter all items with values less than 2|4|6, depending on which level the user entered.
    Hope this sparks your imagination, if it doesn't work.

  4. #4
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    8,781
    Just thinking of how to circumvent the problem of A or A+B or A+B+C, but not A+C or B+C
    It hasn't been expressed as a problem. It's just a warning that I wanted to make and may not apply here, although I'm not seeing the advantage of picking < 2 when you can just pick 1 for A. Anyway I guess it doesn't matter at this point.

    If it is an issue, then a full range of combinations may be needed, in which case for A, B, C that means 6. Possibly the posted explanation is incomplete as so often happens here, but what also should be considered is what happens if forms/reports/queries have to be redesigned if a 4th option is added in the future. If so, that suggests that there is an underlying design issue such as the lack of a lookup table in favour of value lists, or perhaps that the db has multi value fields (which I would not use).

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Upcoming Holidays Alert
    By hicham6w in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2015, 06:37 AM
  2. Is there an easy way to remove an alert?
    By mcahal in forum Macros
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2015, 04:47 PM
  3. Alert Forumla
    By zbaker in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2014, 12:14 PM
  4. Alert on duplicate field
    By Chillax'n in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 08:35 AM
  5. Create an alert
    By ellixer in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 08:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums