Sck is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Move Backend databases to SharePoint? Y/N? Need advice

I have about a dozen Access (2013/2016) split databases. Each of them use a significate amount of VBA code to run the data entry forms, reports, and process the data (no macros) in the local frontend Access databases. The backends are stored on a server to allow access for up to 50 different users. I am starting to get some pressure from management to move the backend databases to SharePoint. I have ZERO experience with SharePoint. Is this going to be a painful process or is it just a matter of exporting the tables from the backend to individual SharePoint lists then reconnecting the linked tables in the frontend files?

potential issues:

• one of the backend databases uses an attachment field (I know!! tried to fight it but management insisted at that point in time)
    • another frontend stores attachments external to the database but at the location of the database with the mapping stored in a table
    • I have code developed to relink to the backend files via file selection - allows users to connect to different versions of the backend as needed
    • as Admin, I do have to correct data directly in the backends from time to time which is not an issue in Access tables - not sure about doing this in SharePoint lists??
    • some of the frontends are linked to tables in multiple backends

I would prefer that they just stay with the file server but that may be out of my control. if it is a bad idea or major issue to move the backends to SharePoint, I need some reasons why so I can argue the point. At this point I don't know if it is a PROBLEM or not as I said, I have never used SharePoint for anything.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016