Autopopulate a form based on previously entered data

Hi I am a complete newbie and need help!

I have created a database that tracks contact and genealogical information. I have one table (contacts) which has many fields. I have a form allowing me to enter contact information as well as another form that enters genealogical information into the table. I would like the genealogical form to autopopulate the date of birth, place of birth, date of death, and place of death for that ancestor, in the table if the information for that individual has already previously been entered. To make it more clear say I am entering the name, date of birth, place of birth, date of death, and place of death of Bob's Grandfather but this is also the Grandfather of Paul (Bob's Brother and someone I have already recorded the information for). I would like to enter the person's name and the date of birth, place of birth, date of death, and place of death of the individual is automatically populated based on entering the name. So my question is how can I do this?

Thanks!!!

NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Well by 'autopopulate' - I trust you don't mean making a second record of info that is already there...but bringing up the record that is already there...

Generically one way is by having a combobox or listbox in the header of the form. When you insert this control - the wizard will step you thru set up and you want to select that it selects a record.

You will want to add as many fields as needed so that the user clearly selects the right person.

The other way, generically, is with a subform - - but it is not clear to me what your layout and table structure is so am not sure if this is viable....

tarhim47 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Hi,

My questions is kinf of along the same lines. May be you could help me out.