ShennyP is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Appending SAP exports Every Day

I am very new to access and am struggling to find a good way to append daily exports from SAP with some error checking.

To be more detailed we export 2 SAP files every day and I need the new data added to their appropriate master table. I know there is an import excel file function where you can append the new data to the table which works well however I don't think I can put duplicate and error checking using this method. I want to try and make it as easy as possible however I don't want any chance of wrong data going in. What is going the be the best way of doing this?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    What format are these exported files in - CSV or Excel? Options:

1. possibly set links to the files and work with them like tables

2. VBA automation code to process data one line or row at a time
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Could export as either of those formats. These files will change tho and I need the historic data to stay in the table.

June7 is online now VIP
    Appending should not impact existing records. If anything, the INSERT could fail to add new records but would not change existing.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.