stremchem is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Cross-tab query YTD

Hello Everyone! This is my first time visiting this forum...

I've come to you with a question that has been stumping me for awhile. I've searched and searched on this topic to no avail. My CEO is asking for certain information over the past five years, but in each year, he only wants the YTD information, not that entire year's information. He wants to compare the current YTD to past years.

I've tried to use the DateSerial function, but it doesn't seem to work well in a cross-tab query. So for example, I want to run a report based on invoice dates through July 31st of each of the past five years.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

-Mike

weekend00 is offline I may not be right
    Windows XP Access 2003
    I think you need to provide more detail about you data format and/or table structure.
    Is there once record a day for each day and you just want the record with date as 7/31? or you need the summary from 1/1 to 7/31 of each year?

Windows XP Access 2007
    I apologize for the lack of data. We're looking to count the # of units sold for some particular item #'s. The crosstab query sums the total # of units sold each calendar year. Unfortunately, when we compare # of units YTD in 2010 to past years, it's inaccurate because the past years' totals are for the entire year.

As of now the query lists each year (2002 to 2010) and returns total # of units sold for each item in that particular year.

Is this helpful?

Windows XP Access 2003
    create a query to do the total first, then do transform using this query as data source.

for example:
    Assume you table is like this tbl(dDate datetime, units long, Item, text)
    Create query "GetTotal":
    SELECT Year(ddate) AS yyear, Sum(tbl.units) AS total, tbl.item
    FROM tbl
    WHERE (((Format([ddate],"mmdd"))<=Format(Now(),"mmdd")))
    GROUP BY Year(ddate), tbl.item;