Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thomasso is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Question What is the easiest way to use Access DB simultaneously on multiple PCs?

Hello,

I am no expert in databases nor MS Access, but over the years, I have created a rather complex company database for my business. It was a lot of googling, DIY, trials and errors and so on. But I managed to get it working quite well on a single PC.

The problem is when I try to make it possible to control simultaneously on multiple computers.

Every employee has their own Office 365 Business Premium license. The database itself is stored on my OneDrive account. The folder is shared with the employees. They can access it with no problems but if multiple people open it at the same time, a local copy is stored on each PC, OneDrive states that the file was not synchronized and we now have 2 copies of it. The sync is lost.

I tried several options:
    - split the database to front and back end and upload the backend on our SharePoint, but I couldn't make it work (it's probably too complex for that - a lot of VBA)
    - make it open in exclusive mode (that way only single person could open it but at least the others could not and there would be no desync) - didn't work either, for some reason, the other people can still open the database even if I have it opened in exclusive mode.

I would be very happy if you could point me in the right direction here. The ideal thing would be if everyone had their own front end connected with server based back end. The database is still under construction so the design is changed very often. But I would just push front end updates to the employees.

Thanks very much!
    Tomas

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    you must split the db , the tables (Backend) will remain in a network folder (or sharepoint)
    then every person gets their own copy of the front end db.

it works just fine.