Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    cap.zadi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    481

    Is It Good Method to Hide DB Objects!

    Hi,



    I just wonder to know the feasibility and recommendations of to hide the FE DB objects at opening of login form although they are Nav. is disabled and ribbons too.

    I used this code for tables and works fantastic but is it feasible option and if so then can we hide all other objects and how?

    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)
    Dim db As DAO.Database
    Dim tdf As DAO.TableDef
    Set db = CurrentDb
    'Loop through the TableDefs Collection.
    For Each tdf In db.TableDefs
                tdf.Attributes = acHidden 'Hide Tables (Change acHidden to acNormal to unhide all tables)
    Next tdf
    End Sub

  2. #2
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,974
    Yes its feasible but in my view the wrong approach
    Better still hide the navigation pane completely.
    You can do that via Access options and lock down the database using code.

    End users should have no access to tables and queries
    All navigation should be done using controls on forms

    For examples of ways of locking down parts of the Access user interface see http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/c...ace/4594365418
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  3. #3
    cap.zadi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    481
    Hi
    Thanks and its seems a wonderful solution to protect the DB.

    So means i can use the codes for hiding Nav and Ribons for my DB or else as well.

    Some more Questions since u had wider expertise:

    a. Why still Linked Table in front end are data editable?
    b. How to protect the BE from deleting and copying? (*I already set a password for opening).
    c.

  4. #4
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,974
    Quote Originally Posted by cap.zadi View Post
    Hi
    Thanks and its seems a wonderful solution to protect the DB.

    So means i can use the codes for hiding Nav and Ribons for my DB or else as well.

    Some more Questions since u had wider expertise:

    a. Why still Linked Table in front end are data editable?
    b. How to protect the BE from deleting and copying? (*I already set a password for opening).
    c.

    Yes you can use any of that code
    A) Split databases are designed for use by multiple users with all tables in the BE.
    The linked tables are editable by default. It is possible to make tables read only but fairly unusual to do so.
    As users should have no direct access to tables, they should only be able to edit data using forms and only for selected tables

    B) Basically you can't as Access is file based system.
    However you should make sure end users do not have permission to open the folder containing the BE
    If you need a more secure solution, use a server based BE such as SQL Server

    C) ?
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  5. #5
    cap.zadi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    481
    Hi

    Thanks for your expert opinion.

    Can we use yours code like HideAccessWindow@ at form load instead of giving options to user via buttons.

  6. #6
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,974
    Yes of course and that would be the normal method of doing so.
    The easiest method is probably to create an autoexec macro which will run automatically run when the application starts
    Alternatively, add such code to the form load event of your start-up form.
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  7. #7
    cap.zadi is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    481
    Well, Thanks for bringing up such wonderful solutions and advises for juniors who were only thinking out of box without any solutions.

    I will try to create autoexec otherwise you can help to create for me.

    Thanks

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2017, 08:14 AM
  2. How to hide the All access objects window?
    By dollygg in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2017, 12:37 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-25-2016, 02:56 PM
  4. Hide objects and menu bar from the users
    By Blancorn in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2016, 06:08 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-18-2012, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums