crackpot is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

one to one relations

Good morning everybody, I'm a newbie, struggling with this:

• I have a huge set of data (fields never used anywhere else!only one shot!)
    • these data have to be populated by different employees so, in order to:
      • reduce a sinle huge table
      • authorize each employee to populate a different mask
    I think the solution is a few "one to one relations" (each with the set of data that the single employees has to manage.

my problem is how to create in access 2007 a one to one relation
    actually I do create it, but it does not work?
    how can I populate data?
    If I check integrity I can' add a field in nor of the 2 tables!
    each one says that cannnot add a filed because the other one hasn't any record related to (ad a dog that bites itself tail!)
    whereas with no check for integrity I can add a record in the secondary table that I can open inside the primary, BUT I can't see it anymore when I open the table again. Nor I can't see any record added..
    I can't see it inside the secondary table, wherease it's actually added to the secondary table, if I open this table separately the added record exists!
    how can I populate and manage a one to one relation???

or there is some other solution (without having to write a loooong code... :-O)
    THANKS!!!!
    Bianca

Datagopherdan is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    I'm assuming tht you're saying that each employee is assigned their own specific records. You can do this programatically. Without knowing a great deal about what you're working with, the basic setup would be that you would create an employee's table and have a unique identifer in the table such as an auto-number and set is as your primary key In your records table you would create a employee id field (Numeric data type) and set a one to many relationship between your employee's table and records table.