Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    jbrickner is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

Access Crashing during AddNew, but only when certain string Arguments are used. No Error Code

Hey, all, this is my first thread, and I am pretty new to VBA, so bear with me if it is a little rough around the edges.

I am having an issue with Access crashing during an attempt to add a new record to a Recordset. The code below is similar to one used in other systems I have coded, and when I use my name as strInspector, it works properly with no problems. However, if i use any of the other inspector names (selected from a drop-down box) it crashes the program. There is no error warning, and no alert. It simply crashes and reboots the program. Any suggestions?

Code:
    Function StoreSerial(SN, SO, RN, PN, Optional strInspector As String)

If SNexists(SN) = True Then 'SNsxists returns true if SN is already in database
        Exit Function
    End If

Dim SSc As ADODB.Connection
    Dim SSs As New ADODB.Recordset
    Set SSc = CurrentProject.Connection
    SSs.ActiveConnection = SSc
    SSs.Open "SerialNumbers", , adOpenDynamic, adLockOptimistic

If strInspector <> "" And Not IsNull(strInspector) Then
        SSs.AddNew Array("SerialNumber", "ShopOrder", "ReleaseNumber", "PartNumber", "PrimaryInspector"), Array(SN, SO, RN, PN, strInspector) 'crashes here, but only when strInspector is certain names
    Else
        SSs.AddNew Array("SerialNumber", "ShopOrder", "ReleaseNumber", "PartNumber"), Array(SN, SO, RN, PN) 'never crashes when this one is run instead.
    End If

CloseSS:
    Set SSc = Nothing
    SSs.Close
    SSs.ActiveConnection = Nothing
    End Function

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    That's a new method on me. Do the failing names have apostrophes, commas, or anything different than names that work?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com