VAer is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

What is the difference of Access vs. Visual Studio(Enterprise) vs. SAS

I am not an IT professional, so my question may be dumb. But I consider myself good Excel VBA developer. I am trying to ask the questions in plain language. Correct me if I am wrong, and provide any more comments I do not cover.

I have all those three software installed in my work computer.

Primary purpose: Developing some applications which can manage ODBC database and do some data analysis of ODBC dataset. It is not about learning some basic for self-use, it is deep learning, eventually developing application for organization.

Background: Very familiar with Excel VBA, so I guess it may be easier for me to learn Access/Visual Studio? They are all MS products, VB is not very different from VBA.

Access: I think I can be very familiar with Access application development fair quickly, since I can feel it is relatively easier than the other two (Visual Studio & SAS). But the big disadvantage is: Access is not good choice to handle large ODBC database. So I think I need to learn something else to handle large ODBC database.

Visual Studio(Enterprise): I do feel it is very powerful and a lot of features. Let me ask the core question first: should Visual Studio have no problem to handle large ODBC database, correct? At least comparing to Access. I am not sure if it is my computer hard drive issue, it is so slow for me to open Visual Studio. It is really killing my enthusiasm to learn Visual Studio. I have poked around Visual Studio a few months ago, maybe it has a lot of features and I am new to Visual Studio, my first impression is: I feel lost.