Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    musicmanbob is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007

Adding New Students to my Microsoft Acess Database

Good Evening All,

I have constructed several Microsoft Access Databases for student info. In order to capture all of the student info I have established 10 fields to contain this information. Now, due to new incoming students for the same classes, I want to add them using the same 10 fields, but on the same database. In other words, I don't want to have to duplicate the same fields in a totally new database if I can just add the new students to what I've already created. The class is the same that require the same info from each student. Thanks for your help. I am very new at this.

davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    I have constructed several Microsoft Access Databases for student info.
    And your post concerns just one of them, yes?
    How did you get the original students into the database? Do you have a data entry form to do that?
    A form should be all you need to enter new students into the existing table.

If this doesn't make sense to you, please explain more about your database, perhaps showing your relationship screen with the student table. And also a jpg of the data entry form if you have one.
    Best of all, post a copy of the DB here so that we can examine it.

isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Not sure why you needed to create SEVERAL databases for student info.
    Why not one database?

The whole point of a database is that it is possible to edit existing records and add new ones.
    So yes - you can easily add new students

All changes to data should be done using forms - not by directly editing the tables
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

Windows 10 Access 2007