Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    christ2000 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    45

    Please help on this problem

    Hello, i need a solution for this, I have a DB that hold several clients, but I need that every time that I add a new client, in a sub form appear several documents when I can input expirations dates of this documents. for example I need 10 documents pre determined that appear in this subform every time I add a new client and just enter expiration dates, now I nee to input every document name and it is a pain




    any ideas?

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,431
    You can execute an append query that gets documents from a table and the client from the form.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    christ2000 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    45
    Thanks, but how append the query to the form

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,431
    Well, you execute it from the form, either from the after insert event or a button.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    christ2000 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    45
    THanks, this error appear Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 06-20-18 at 12.26 PM.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	127.1 KB 
ID:	34503

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,431
    What's the SQL of the query? Presumably you have a table with just the 10 documents, and a table with fields for client, document and expiration date. Your query should insert into the second and select from the first.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #7
    christ2000 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    45
    THanks, now I don't get the error but every time that I add a new client and run the query this duplicate the value in old clients, so do you think is there any way to access populate new records with the documents name in this subform without use the append query?

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,431
    Are you not selecting from a table that only includes the 10 documents? You don't appear to be using a value from the form for the customer like I suggested. Can you attach the db here?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  9. #9
    christ2000 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    45
    THanksss i do it , thanks for your helpppp very helpfull

  10. #10
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,431
    Happy to help!
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-06-2015, 01:47 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2012, 11:52 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 03:25 PM
  4. query problem i have a problem wi
    By maxx3 in forum Queries
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 02:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums