rxmaman is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

How to design database for user selects a date to run an event and the database resets for next time

I'm designing a database for a racetrack. Once a week, the user will enter drivers, race lineups and race results. This data needs to be saved for yearly reports. But, I want the database to "blank out" all fields in all forms for the following week (new date, new results etc....). Currently, I have a "Race management" navigation form with subforms to enter all data, including the date. I feel like I'm missing a step such as: first select date, then race management form opens and all forms will default to the original date selected. Am I close?

I am very new at this. Learning everything from online searches. Thanks for all your help.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    I want the database to "blank out" all fields in all forms for the following week
    This sounds like you've based your form(s) on a table, which is something I rarely do. Basing them on a query allows you to restrict displayed records according to your needs, otherwise you load an entire table each time the form opens, unless you apply a filter on opening. If you're going to do that, then why not just use a query? I don't use navigation forms, but whatever form you're opening from there, they can make things more complicated when you attempt to pass values to an opening form. Usually, the reference to the nav form that contains the filter value isn't correct, which is one reason I don't use them (the other being that you can only have one open at a time), but you didn't post anything that really explains the process you're using. If that isn't the case here, then I don't understand what the issue really is.