Tycho4511 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Reading data from one column and transforming that into abbreviation for a new column

I am basically new to Access and have had fun teaching myself over the last week.

I am trying to set up a table where the data from one column is read and then transformed for each entry into an abbreviated 3 letter code. For example, I have a column named “Image Source” and a field with the entry of “Shutterstock” I would like another field to automatically generate our internal code associated with Shutterstock (SHS). [Another example: “Flickr” generates “FLR”)

I tried creating a query using IFF statements nested with each possible image source and return the particular code. This worked but there was a cap on the number of nested IFF statements so it seems like there is a better solution. (Also once I generated the query that returned the codes based on the source I did not know how to get that result into my main table).

It might be important to know that the source data (column called "Image Source") is a lookup field. I did this so I could start typing the source and it would autocomplete the rest.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. Thanks!

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Typically, the way to do this would be to create a lookup table that has your names and abbreviations.
    Then simply join this lookup table to your original table in a query, and return the abbreviation field.

Note: You typically would do it in this manner, and NOT store the abbreviation as a field on the table level. In a well designed database, the fields in a table should NOT be dependent on one another. This is part of data normalization.