Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    GraeagleBill's Avatar
    GraeagleBill is offline Experienced Old Geezer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,533

    Re-Link to backend data on network attached storage


    I need to share a DB on my local network but the Access re-link option won't allow me to navigate to the desired file. Am I missing something or doesn't Access support data on network attached storage?

    Not that it matters, bu I know I posted using the term "Re-Link" but I can't get linked even to begin with.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is online now Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    You need to go through "Network Places".
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  3. #3
    GraeagleBill's Avatar
    GraeagleBill is offline Experienced Old Geezer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,533
    That's exactly what I attempted but encountered somewhat of a strange behavior in the way the NAS is viewed via ACCESS Link Manager versus how the NAS is viewed by Explorer.

    Via Link Manager:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	006.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	51.1 KB 
ID:	34364

    Via Microsoft Explorer
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	007.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	38.6 KB 
ID:	34365

    I searched Google regarding LAN problems but found nothing that seemed to fit this situation. As you might have noticed in the Explorer screenshot that the NAS has been given a static IP address but that's never been a problem for Explorer. If Access uses a different method for displaying NAS folder structure then who knows?

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is online now Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    This may be a case where you will need to map the NAS drive. I would certainly give it a try.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  5. #5
    GraeagleBill's Avatar
    GraeagleBill is offline Experienced Old Geezer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,533
    Yes, I knew I could map the NAS but have always been reluctant to increase exposure to NAS files. The essentials of the back-end are fairly static so having only two copies within the LAN isn't a big deal in the case of the current app.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. #6
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,361
    I don't have a NAS on my LAN, but I do have other computers that could possibly(?) act like a NAS.
    So I ran a test to link to a table in an ACCDB on the other computer using the IP address. I was able to link to the table "TestTable" in "Database1.accdb".

    After clicking on "External Data\Access", I entered "\\192.168.59.243\c\Users\Steve\Documents\Database1.accdb" in the FILE NAME box and
    selected the radio button "Link to the ..." option.


    Maybe try
    \\192.168.1.147\Public\YourDBName.accdb
    HTH
    -----
    Steve
    --------------------------------
    "Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
    (I came; I saw; I stuck around.)

  7. #7
    GraeagleBill's Avatar
    GraeagleBill is offline Experienced Old Geezer
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,533
    Code:
    \\192.168.1.147\Public\YourDBName.accdb
    Using the static IP address does work. I'm really reluctant to use that simply because any subsequent hardware changes on the LAN router will likely cause app failures. However, your thought led me to try to use network notation directly in the filename pane even though I can't navigate there via "normal" methods.

    So, "this" works:
    Code:
    \\WDMyCloud\Public\kPics.mdb
    Thanks,
    Bill

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-06-2015, 01:51 PM
  2. Best practice for data storage in db
    By BRZ-Ryan in forum Database Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2015, 08:07 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 08:11 AM
  4. break the link to a backend table
    By markjkubicki in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2013, 10:49 PM
  5. Use network and local backend
    By andythepandy93 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2012, 11:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums