Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 46
  1. #31
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206
    Wow! This is Great, will save me lots of time. I'm learning as I go, examples can help a lot.

  2. #32
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206

    Update and problem!

    Update and problem! I have a form that creates a table tblbins with fields Part_FK (autoNum), BinNum (Text) ( indexed and No Duplicates), RowNum (Text), ColNum (Text), ComNum (text). I can enter info. in the form and works great, but I want unique data entered into the BinNum field and sometime it give me a error message of duplicates and some times it adds duplicate data when I do a build. I've tried many things and can't seem to over come this problem. The error message is OK, but why does it add duplicate data sometime?

    some of my code:

    Public Function fcnBuildTable()
    Dim sSQL As String
    Dim nKey As Long
    Dim sRow As Long
    Dim sBin As String
    Dim nBin As Long
    Dim nCol As Long
    Dim nCom As Long
    Dim nRow As Long
    Dim Letter As String
    Dim Lin As String
    Letter = "A"
    For nRow = 1 To fRows
    Lin = Letter
    Letter = Chr(Asc(Letter) + 1)
    For nCol = 1 To fCols
    For nCom = 1 To fComs
    nBin = nBin + 1
    sBin = Nz(sPfx + " ", "") & nBin
    sSQL = "INSERT INTO tblBins (BinNum, RowNum, ColNum, CompNum) VALUES ('" & sBin & "', '" & Lin & "' , " & nCol & ", " & nCom & ")"
    ' Debug.Print sSQL

    CurrentDb.Execute sSQL, dbFailOnError (I get error here if problem with build)

    Next nCom
    Next nCol
    Next nRow
    MsgBox "Insert successful"
    DoCmd.OpenTable "tblBins"
    DoCmd.SelectObject acTable, "tblBins"
    DoCmd.Requery
    DoCmd.SelectObject acForm, "frmBuild"
    DoCmd.Close acTable, "tblBins"

    Call resetAll
    End Function

    This is how I create the table:
    Private Sub cmdCreate_Click()

    Dim db As DAO.Database
    Dim strSQL As String
    Set db = CurrentDb
    strSQL = "CREATE TABLE tblBins( " _
    & "Parts_FK counter primary key," _
    & "BinNum text(50), " _
    & "RowNum text(50), " _
    & "ColNum text(50)," _
    & "CompNum text(50))"

    ' Dim dbs As Database

    db.Execute strSQL

    ' Create a unique index, BinID, on the
    ' BinNum field.
    db.Execute "CREATE UNIQUE INDEX BinID " _
    & "ON tblBins (BinNum) " _
    & "WITH DISALLOW NULL;"
    ' Set db = Nothing
    On Error Resume Next
    DoCmd.Requery
    End Sub

  3. #33
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is online now Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,407
    Why are you running this code more than once?
    After the table is created, why would you run that code again? Why would you run the bin initialization code more than once?
    Tell us more about what you are trying to accomplish in simple terms.

  4. #34
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206
    If I run the function more then once I can add more location names, but I don't want duplicates. This is still work in progress and more of a learning thing! This is what my bins table could look like, and at a later date I may add another Tray or Bin Cab. Why does it allow the build to use the same data more than once? Thanks for your help!

    tblBIns
    Parts_FK BinNum RowNum ColNum CompNum
    1 Top 1 A 1 1
    2 Top 2 A 1 2
    3 Top 3 A 2 1
    4 Top 4 A 2 2
    5 Bot 1 A 1 1
    6 Bot 2 A 2 1
    7 Bot 3 B 1 1
    8 Bot 4 B 2 1
    9 Tray #1 1 A 1 1
    10 Tray #1 2 A 2 1
    11 Tray #1 3 A 3 1
    12 Tray #1 4 B 1 1
    13 Tray #1 5 B 2 1
    14 Tray #1 6 B 3 1
    Cols don't line up as in table!

  5. #35
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Tom,
    If this is not your basic BIN, then please adjust the attached so that your terminology is clear.

    This seems to be a multi-row, multi-column "bin" with adjustable "paper or plastic inserts" to allow
    multiple compartments. You may have many BINs where each BIN can have different configurations.

    Any BIN configuration has a configuration (row, col, compartments) that you design/build/create. It only
    changes when you make a physical change. You can have as many BINs as you need.

    Revised graphic:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BinWithRowsColumnsAndCompartmentsV1.png 
Views:	17 
Size:	207.5 KB 
ID:	34970
    Last edited by orange; 08-05-2018 at 09:08 AM. Reason: revise attachment

  6. #36
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206
    This is some of what I have for parts many sizes and shapes, and I have bin cabinets also. BinNum has the Bin sPfx * Number (Tray #1 + number). Second run maybe (Top Bin + number) = BinNum. Function works great, just want to prevent duplicates in the BinNum field. Some times I get an error and other builds I don't, should get error when ever I use same data in BinNum.

  7. #37
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is online now Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,407
    Here is an updated DB from the one I posted at #29.
    This one includes a computed key in each record that will prevent duplicates in tblBins.

  8. #38
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    What exactly is a Tray?
    What is a BinCabinet?
    Where do these fit in the picture?

    Perhaps others understand your setup, but I think there is still confusion.
    In addition to the graphic presented in my previous post showing my understanding of Bin, Row, Column and Compartment,
    I am posting another graphic for you to confirm what you are really dealing with. My view is there is confusion between your concept of a solution and some interim code. Like most database/application projects a clear understanding of requirements is the best starting point.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BinsTraysCabinets.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	287.8 KB 
ID:	34968

    Perhaps you could adjust or confirm the piece as per your requirement.

    A few points to consider:
    ( base assumption is that original configuration has "dividers" that provide R*C compartments)

    -when you move a "divider" and create a "compartment" that spans more than 1 row and/or more than 1 column that is a Customization

    -Cabinet, Bin, Row and Column only identify those storage locations where no customization has occurred
    -once you make 1 or more customization(s) you could identify a Compartment table to identify current Compartments in a given Bin
    -For example, BIN6 --with 6 Rows and 4 columns has 24 base compartments initially. If BIN6 is modified/customized such that (as per my original graphic) in Row 1 dividers between col1 and col2, col3 and col4 and col5 and col6 are removed, then you are left with 3 compartments in Row1. In the tblCompartment, you could number BIN compartments from upper left to lower right
    showing Compartment1 now includes row1, col1 and row1, col2; Compartment2 includes row1, col3 and row1, col4....
    -the implication of all of this is that ONLY the current configuration exists. If you make any Customization, you must update your tblCompartment accordingly and ensure you have moved all "items" from the old compartment(s) to this new compartment(s) or some existing Compartment.
    -with any customization, row and col alone do not identify a compartment

    Good luck with your project.

  9. #39
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    @davegri,
    Please describe the rationale for determining a compartment. Perhaps a graphic showing the set up would clarify things.

    From your latest db (v03)
    2 Bins, 5 rows, 4 columns and 13 compartments =====>; gives me 520 records???

    It seems your interpretation would divide each row/col intersection into NumCompartment compartments and that every Bin and row and column would be exactly the same? Does it allow for various configurations in each Bin?

  10. #40
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206
    I don't see how sDupBuild = nBin & sRow & nCol & nCom ? Where does it compare sDupBuild? I'm still looking and learning!

  11. #41
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is online now Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,407
    Orange:
    Does it allow for various configurations in each Bin?
    Obviously not. Simple looping code requires a rigid structure.
    I shared your concerns when I designed the code, and had reservations about the variability, but it was what the OP asked for and approved.
    I figured that any variation from the rigid structure would have to be handled manually.

  12. #42
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Davegri,

    I still haven't found a confirmation or clear requirement from MadTom. He talked about plastic or paper dividers so my reaction was variation in "compartment geometry".I've offered some ideas, but have had no feedback.

  13. #43
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is online now Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,407
    I don't see how sDupBuild = nBin & sRow & nCol & nCom ? Where does it compare sDupBuild? I'm still looking and learning!
    sDupBuild is written into each record in tblBins field DupCheck. DupCheck is indexed with no duplicates.
    If the build code is run again with the same parameters that would cause duplicates in the table, the record is not added and the code continues.
    The pertinent code to avoid the dups is in the error handler:
    Code:
    fcnBuildTable_Error:
        Select Case Err
            Case 3022       'duplicate, ignore the insert
                Resume Next
            Case Else
                MsgBox Err.Number & ":" & Err.Description
        End Select
        Resume fcnBuildTable_EXIT
    Last edited by davegri; 08-05-2018 at 04:11 PM. Reason: clarif

  14. #44
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206
    davegri, I see it now! I have the same set up on BinNum, but doesn't always work. I will take your code and use it for what I need.
    Thanks agains for all your help, will post my project when done.

  15. #45
    MadTom's Avatar
    MadTom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    CT and VT
    Posts
    206

    MadTomV1 Bins DB

    Been working and learning on my first project! This is my Bins Form and Table DB, still work in progress and has a few bugs. This will make and add data for Bins, Trays or any type small storage units., Uses Letters for Rows, Numbers for Columns and any number of compartments. If any compartment isn't used add info. in Notes. Any suggestions would be great and thanks to this Forum and the members! Now I will add more Forms and Parts Tables to this project!
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2018, 11:55 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-01-2017, 06:57 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2014, 12:50 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2012, 03:20 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 07:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums