Riptyde is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

How do I toggle between manually imputing a date and using a calculated date field in a form.

First, I'm very new to access, and new to this site. so any help that comes along - thanks in advanced.

At my work, we use Excell - A LOT. and most of it would be perfect for Access and generating reports. One particular area is creating timelines. So, I have started looking into how I could build timelines. I figured out how to make the table. Now I'm working on the Forms. We build out timelines two ways. First a rough timeline based on weeks or specific known dates. Then we build them based on actual number of days between milestones.

what I'm wanting to do is have an option in the form that will let me toggle between manual date inputs and a calculated date. I know how to do them individually, just not toggeling between them. I have spent the last couple days, off and on, looking for something close to this that I could extrapolate from, but haven't been able to find anything close enough.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    you would need 1 flag field, [UseCalcDate], 1 date field, [DateFld] , and 3 queries.

The flag would be to say: UseCalcDate (as boolean) if true use a calculated field
    qsDate1Calc would would use the calculation to produce date , and ignore [DateFld]

qsDate2NoCalc would would use the field [DateFld] to produce date in that field

put BOTH queries into a Union query to get all the data, qnDatesUnion
    select * from qsDate1Calc
    union
    select * from qsDate2NoCalc

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    I think the above assumes you want to store the decision to use calculated dates or not, so that you can make use of that decision going forward, as in be able to repeat the creation of data, or adjust it, according to the decision made. My apologies if that isn't the intent of the suggestion.