Emkretsch is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Question How do I run a Macro saved in DB #1 from a different external DB (#2)?

Hi,
    I have a macro in an Access 2013 DB #1, that opens an external Access DB #2.
    In DB #2 I have a macro (called "Test Run Function") that runs a function module, which calls a sub code module to run.

1. I want to be able to create a macro (or just the macro action if possible) in DB#1, that will run the "Test Run Function" macro in DB #2. I already have a macro in DB #1 that opens DB #2. I do not want to use an Autoexec in DB #2 because I do not want the macro to run every time I open the DB.

2. I need to know how to have a macro in DB #1, close DB #2.

I am trying to automate as many steps as possible for a big report I will be creating.
    I have DB #1 as my workhorse & DB #2 as my final summarized data tables to be used to create the report in Excel with PowerPivot.

Please be kind as I am a newbie to VBA, so I don't know many commands or the lingo. I'm just learning some of the basics as I need them.

ANY ideas or help would be GREATLY appreciated!! TY TY TY!!!

isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    There have been several similar questions in recent weeks
    The obvious question is why can't you do everything you need from DB1?

In DB1, link any DB2 tables involved with this macro
    Also Import any queries needed from DB2 to DB1 and the DB2 Test Run Function macro

Now run the macro from DB1 - no need to open (or later close) DB2
    You can also then "create the report in Excel with PowerPivot." in DB1
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

Quote Originally Posted by ridders52 View Post
    There have been several similar questions in recent weeks
    The obvious question is why can't you do everything you need from DB1?