Fiddler is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Baby steps for setting up runtime version of Access in Cloud

Hi, I'm an old programmer who came back after 8 years, so I hadn't used the cloud or newer versions of runtime. I'm now working in a cloud environment (this is my first week). From what I understand, to create a version of Access that can be deployed to a handful of office personnel (who don't have Access), I'll download and use a "runtime" package to do the build and it will create an ACCDR version, not an ACCDB.

I don't really know how this works, particularly in the cloud. Will the runtime package split my db into front end and backend? Will users be adding data to my copy of Access (which is the only full version)? Is there any special code I need to include to point to any linked Excel files? (I'll be allowing importing from Excel for certain files). Do I need to install a version of Access on our server? I don't know how to write ODBC connections (or any connections) for the cloud as I don't know where anything is! I have to laugh.

In looking for information about this on the net, I've seen a couple postings that said ACCDR will not run VBA. Is this true? I standardly use unbound forms and perform all actions with VBA and SQL strings.

I hope some folks in this group can point me to baby steps on what I need to know to set this up successfully. Thank you for any help!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    no, runtime just runs.
    split your db with a full version of access, then runtime can run it.
    Im not sure about cloud usage for the BE, but if it can be accessed via a link, then it may work.
    It DOES work with network links.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007