480hoyle is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

NotInList Edit Form Question

I am a novice user, and do not know how to code at all. I plan to use this to track grievance filings and case status. I have attached a zip file with mock data.

I want to be able to use the Grievant combo box on my form to add the last name of a person to my people list--edit on-the-fly. I am able to add the person but then when I go to save the record, I get an error response saying the changes duplicate values in index, primary key or relationship. My properties allow list items to edit the form.

Before I changed the properties to allow list items to edit, I had to go to the other form (People) to input the person. The issue with this was that every time I did that, the name I chose from the combo box on the Grievances form would show on every Grievance file (the same name for every file; it was the most recently chosen name, but that name would be placed on every file).

I would appreciate any suggestions--Thank you!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails errorCapture.JPG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    you get this error because of the table key.
    you tried to enter a duplicate and the keys are preventing you.

in the tStates table, keyed on StateCode, if TX exists, you cannot add TX again. (youll get that msg)
    so check your keys or your data being added.

ranman256--thanks for your quick reply. I get this response only when I ADD a member not already included in the table. If I choose a name that already exists, using the combo box, that same name is populated for every single grievance file.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Grievant combobox is unbound. There is no NotInList event code. Review http://www.fontstuff.com/access/acctut20.htm