Results 1 to 4 of 4

Split DB Backup Opening Issue

  1. #1
    2stew is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    13

    Unhappy Split DB Backup Opening Issue

    I have a split database that I made backup copy into a new folder called "Backup". Once the copy was completed I went into the "Backup" folder and opened the front-end and re-linked it to the New backup file within the "Backup" folder.


    I had no problems and before I closed the file I double-check the Linking Manager window to ensure the file path was correct. I then made another backup on my hard drive (a 2nd backup) within my own hard drive and re-linked in there as well with no issues.

    Now when I try to open the original front-end file or any of the "Backup" front-end files; none of the files will open. I get a "flash" view of the file (looks like it's opening) and then the system reverts back to the Access "File" tab where you can select "Open".

    I have no other backups. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE HELP.

  2. #2
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    7,554
    Your explanation is not very clear.

    have a split database that I made backup copy into a new folder called "Backup
    of what? front end or backend?

    I went into the "Backup" folder and opened the front-end and re-linked it to the New backup file within the "Backup" folder.
    this implies you copied both, but your front end should be on your local drive.

    It could be your application runs some autoexec code which closes the app if certain conditions aren't met. it could be the front end has become corrupted. Is the application multi user? and do users share the same front end? The above implies that is the case - users sharing the same front end will eventually lead to corruption.

    Suggested solution.

    open a new db, copy all objects from your original front end, then relink to the back end. does this solve the problem? or are you unable to open the front end from the importer?

  3. #3
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    7,715
    every user would have a 'backup' of the FE in their folder.
    The only needed backup is the backend. Regularly.
    If you have a backup then you have the original.

  4. #4
    2stew is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    13
    Got it. Had to create a new DB.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Auto Backup Backend When Opening Frontend
    By Elfear in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2019, 10:58 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2016, 08:36 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2012, 02:16 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2012, 04:19 PM
  5. Access opening issue
    By tmcrouse in forum Database Design
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 08:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums