Gemini is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Access 2016 - Contacts Template - Search Function Limitation

Hello,

I am brand new to database design so please forgive beginner questions.

I am using Access 2016 "Contacts" template. The built in Search function on the Form view of the database seems to default to searching only the "name" columns of the data table.

Is there a way to reassign the search function to a different data column? I want the search function to search in the "notes" column of the data table and yield search results of contact forms that contain the search term in the notes column.

I hope the question is clear. Thanks in advance.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    As in prior versions of Access, you cannot search in a memo field (long text).
    This may also apply to 2016.

Gemini is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thanks ranman256. If the search function cannot be redirected to the notes field, is there any other way to query the data that would give a functional equivalent to this? (workaround).

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Gemini,

Please describe your table and what you are trying to do in plain English --no database jargon.
    I am not familiar with the template you mention.

And/Or post a copy of your database with instructions.

Gemini is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Hi Orange,

I have a database in Access 2016 based on the "Contacts" template. The table data fields correlate to Outlook contact cards (first name, last name, company, title, email, etc.). You can see the table view in the screen shot below.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	9 
Size:	18.7 KB 
ID:	32342

The "Search" function only seems to scan the names and titles columns of the records table.