CP611 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Transforming a spreadsheet - queries?

Hi,
    I have one Excel spreadsheet that need to be transformed across into another spreadsheet. This is currently done using access which was made by someone else but I would like to give it a go myself (I'm a complete novice!). I would like to be able to input a spreadsheet, then run a query which moves columns around, adds more columns and concatenates others and then output it. Are queries the right things to be using, or is it relationships/expressions/macros?!

Any help would be great, getting very confused! :)

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Definitely use queries. You can do calculations in queries, and place the fields in any order you want.
    Not sure what you mean by "adding columns" though. If they are calculated fields based off current data, you would just add them as calculated fields.
    However, if you need add other values that aren't calculated or hard-coded, you will probably need to add other tables, and then link them together.

When you are finished, you can simply export the results of the query (by right-clicking on the Query name and selecting export, or setting up a TransferSpreadSheet macro).

Windows 10 Access 2016