Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    shah1419 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    30

    insert data into table1 from table2 update after every five minutes.

    i want to insert data into table1 from table2. System can find update in table2 and insert into table1 after every 5 minutes.
    please advised.

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    make an append query , add tbl1 to tbl2.
    put this query in a macro , mRunMyQry ,with set warnings = false (so you dont get the questions propmpt.

    macro: mRunMyQry =
    setWarnings = false
    docmd.openquery "qaAddTbl1ToTbl2

    in a form set the timer properties:

    timer interval = 300000. (1000=1sec, so 300,000=5min)
    in the ON TIMER event= mRunMyQry


    the FORM must be open to run the macro.
    it will then run every 5 min.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1,679
    2. If your have back-end database, design a special front-end app. Create a VB script, which opens this front-end, runs a update query from there, and then closes the front-end (or leaves it open - then it must check at start, is the front-end open or not). Create windows scheduled task, which in every 5 minutes runs the VB script;

    3. Move your back-end to SQL Server. Create a stored procedure, which updates the table. Create a Job in SCL Server, which every 5 minutes executes the procedure (if you have SQL Server Express only, you can't define Jobs and must run the procedure using windows scheduled task).

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Insert data If Table1 <> Table2?
    By BigBig5 in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2014, 03:45 PM
  2. Update table2 from table1- Runtime error
    By albasel in forum Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-19-2014, 10:13 AM
  3. copy data from table1 to table2
    By mathanraj76 in forum Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-03-2013, 12:59 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 06:40 AM
  5. Use Table1 to update Table2? Urg Help needed
    By munkifisht in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2009, 08:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums