Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160

    show continuous form as zoomed single form


    Hi, I have a continuous form with 4 fields, on the continuous form I cannot see the complete text in the fields. Is it possible to zoom a continuous form so that it appears as a single popup form with those 4 fields, like zoom for single field but for all the fields in 1 continuous form.
    Thanks for any help
    David

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    no zoom, but:
    put a button on the form header to 'zoom'
    this opens a SINGLE record form based on the KeyID where the cursor is....

    Code:
    sub btnZoom_click()
    docmd.openForm "frmDetail",,,"[id]=" & txtID
    end sub

  3. #3
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160
    Hi Ranman, Thanks for this, one question if I have to click a button in the header how do I place the cursor on the record at the same time?

  4. #4
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160
    Hi really need help with this, instead of using a command button, I'd like to double click on the record in question on the continuous form, and use your:

    Code:
    docmd.openForm "frmDetail",,,"[id]=" & txtID
    but I don't know how to get the id?

    Any help much appreciated.

    Thanks
    David

  5. #5
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    I wouldn't do it like this, creating another form is - to me - more hassle for the user. I would have a main/subform arrangement:
    - create a new form, it will contain a textbox to show the full value
    - add your current form as a subform to this form
    - in the OnCurrent event of your original form (the subform), add this code:
    Forms!mainform!textfieldname=Me!textfieldname

    When the user clicks on a record the text will show on the main form.

  6. #6
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936

  7. #7
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160
    I have this in the main form on current event
    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Current()
      MsgBox " hi, the ComplaintID is "
    End Sub
    The above code - only a msgbox with text - produces:

    The Expression On Current you entered as the event property setting produced the following error: A problem occured while Microsoft Access was communicating with the OLE server or ActiveX Contrrol.

    I would like to also know how to get the value in "Me.MempComplaintSubFrm.Form.ComplaintID"

    where MempComplaintSubFrm is a subform (the main form is MempCompSF) and contains a Continuous Form each record in the continuous form has a field called ComplaintID

    What am I doing wrong?

    Please can you give example code.

    Thanks
    David

  8. #8
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    First, which solution are you following? Please let me know

    Where is "Me.MempComplaintSubFrm.Form.ComplaintID" being referenced?

    I don't know what you are trying to do in the OnCurrent event of the main form.

  9. #9
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160
    Hi aytee, sorry I get a little desperate at this hour. I'm trying your suggestion above: I would have a main/subform arrangement:

    I've created a text box - Zoombox- on the mainform MempCompSF, I also have a subform MempComplaintSubFrm on this main form which contains a continuous form, in the code for the subform I have:

    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Current()Forms!MempCompSF!Zoombox = Me!Zoombox
    End Sub


    When I click on a record in the continuous form I get an error the same as above
    The Expression On Current.....
    What am I doing wrong?

    David


  10. #10
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    That is such a simple solution, I don't know where that error message is coming from. The main form has no record source, the link properties are blank - right? Is there anything else on the main form? Do you have any missing references?

  11. #11
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    Post your database with just those two forms and the table.

  12. #12
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160
    florapal.zip
    Hi not sure this is ok - let me know if you received the attached db.

    The form with the problem is MempCompSF

    Thanks for your help

    David

  13. #13
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    This database is unusable. I am getting lots of errors when I try and use it. Access complaining mainly about non-existent forms. So I created a blank database and imported the objects. All objects imported fine except the forms, lots of errors, even a No Current Record (while importing?). I imported just the two forms in question but those too gave errors. There is something amiss in the VBA modules. I couldn't even compile it cleanly, again non-existent forms.

    The error message you are receiving above has nothing to do with what you are doing here, it has everything to do with VBA errors elsewhere. This may be a 2016 difference that I am experiencing, so I would suggest that you create a blank database and import all objects, see if you get any errors when importing the forms.

  14. #14
    mdavid is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    160
    Hi, thanks for taking the time to look at this, don't understand why I don't see these problems - is it possible the file got corrupted in transfer?

    I haven't added alot of vba code, I'll delete what there is and see if that helps.

    Thanks
    David

  15. #15
    aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    3,936
    In the VBA editor, there is an object called "acwztool" within which there are lots of forms and reports. This is an area that I do not use and cannot guide you as to whether the trouble lies within that or not.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-29-2017, 04:54 PM
  2. Continuous form to show Unique records
    By stewegg in forum Forms
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-19-2017, 05:17 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2016, 03:01 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 07:29 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 06:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums